Voting for Karnataka Assembly elections begins for 222 seats of total 224


Polling has begun for Assembly elections in Karnataka. Voting, which started at 7 in the morning, will continue till 6 PM. Polling is taking place for 222 seats of the total 224 constituencies.

The election in Jayanagar Assembly constituency has been countermanded following the death of BJP candidate while in Rajarajeswari Nagar Assembly seat it has been deferred after the poll panel received various complaints regarding distribution of money, gifts and other materials. Voting in this constituency will now take place on 28th of this month.

Over 2600 candidates are in the fray with main contest expected to be between BJP, Congress and JD(S). Around 3.5 lakh personnel are on duty to ensure a free and fair poll in over 58,000 polling stations. More than five crore voters are expected to exercise their franchise today. Counting of votes will take place on Tuesday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here